Marinated Kale Salad with Golden Raisins and Sunflower Seeds

Kale Salad

Kale is a staple, or maybe even a necessity, in my kitchen.  I grow several varieties in my garden and also buy organic kale from the market.  I put it in my smoothies EVERY day.  I think that kale is one of the primary reasons my eye color has changed from brown to green, I eat so much of it.  🙂

The first time I ate kale I remember thinking that it was bitter and, ok I will admit it, rather nasty tasting.  I made the mistake of putting too much kale and not enough “other good stuff” in my first green smoothie and I could barely choke it down.  Now I love kale so much, and over the years have gotten to love the flavor, that I put less fruit and sweet vegetables in my smoothies and more kale.  I could probably even drink straight kale juice!

Whether you are still a little leery of kale or you are a huge kale fan like me, you will love this very easy marinated kale salad recipe.

Here are a few health facts about kale and then keep reading to get my easy recipe.

  • Kale’s risk-lowering benefits for cancer have recently been extended to at least five different types of cancer. These types include cancer of the bladder, breast, colon, ovary, and prostate. Isothiocyanates (ITCs) made from glucosinolates in kale play a primary role in achieving these risk-lowering benefits.
  • Kale is now recognized as providing comprehensive support for the body’s detoxification system. New research has shown that the ITCs made from kale’s glucosinolates can help regulate detox at a genetic level.
  • Researchers can now identify over 45 different flavonoids in kale. With kaempferol and quercetin heading the list, kale’s flavonoids combine both antioxidant and anti-inflammatory benefits in way that gives kale a leading dietary role with respect to avoidance of chronic inflammation and oxidative stress.
  • Kale helps to lower your cholesterol.
  • 1 cup of raw Kale has 10302IU of Vitamin A (206% DV), 80.4 mg of Vitamin C (134% DV), 547mcg of Vitamin K (684% DV), and is high inMaganese, Potassium, and Calcium as well as a whole other list of vitamins and minerals.

RECIPE

Ingredients

1 large bunch of kale (I like the curly variety), washed, stems removed, and ripped into pieces
1/4 cup olive oil
Tablespoons fresh lemon juice
Tablespoon honey
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1 garlic clove, minced
pinch of sea salt and fresh ground black pepper
1/2 cup golden raisins
1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds

Directions
Place the washed, stemmed, and cut kale into a large bowl.  In a small bowl whisk together the oil, lemon juice, honey, red pepper, garlic, salt, and pepper.  Drizzle the marinade over the kale and then massage it into each piece.  Mix in the raisins and sunflower seeds.  Refrigerate overnight or for at least 2 hours.
*Other varieties
Try the marinated kale with pumpkin seeds, pomegranate seeds, and diced avocado.
Try it with celery, red pepper, cucumber, apple, and red onion.
Or add your own favorite ingredients.
Enjoy!
-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying 🙂
Leave a Reply

