Chocolate Caramel Bars

Here is a great sweet treat adapted from a recipe in Emily Von Euw’s book, “Rawsome Vegan Baking: An Un-Cookbook for Raw, Gluten-Free, Vegan, Beautiful and Sinfully Sweet Cookies, Cakes, Bars and Cupcakes.”  What is great about it (besides the amazing taste) is that it is made with healthy ingredients that you likely have in your house right now.

One bite and you will fall in love.  As always, it is raw, unprocessed, is sweetened with only raisins and pure maple syrup, and has healthy nuts, coconut, and dark cocoa powder.

chocolate caramel bars

You will need a square or small rectangular pan, food processor, and the below ingredients for this three layer heavenly dessert.

Bottom or crust layer

-1 cup raw walnuts (or almonds)
-1 cup raisins (or pitted dates)

Middle caramel layer

-1/2 cup almond butter (or cashew butter)
-1/2 cup melted coconut oil
-1 cup raisins (or pitted dates)
-1/2 tsp vanilla
-1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
-dash of sea salt

Top chocolate layer

-1/3 cup melted coconut oil
-2 tbsp dark cocoa powder
-2 tbsp choffy (ground cocoa beans…or you can use ground coffee beans)
-1/4 cup (or less…I use as little sweetener as possible) pure maple syrup

Pulse the walnuts (or almonds) and raisins in food processor until they begin to stick together and then press into the bottom of your pan.  Place the pan in the refrigerator while you make the next layer.

Combine all of the caramel ingredients into the food processor and blend until creamy.  Spread on top of crust and place back in the refrigerator while you make the chocolate topping.

Combine the chocolate layer ingredients into the food processor and blend until smooth.  Spread on top of caramel layer and place back in refrigerator until set.  It may take several hours or if you are in a hurry to eat them, place them in the freezer for about 1-2 hours.

Cut into bars.  Keep refrigerated.  Enjoy!

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying 🙂

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Caramel Bars

  1. In the ingredients you list walnuts for the crust but in the directions you say pulse the almonds for the crust. Which is it? Are the interchangeable?

  2. After I asked the question, I went to my pantry to assemble my ingredients. I discovered I was almost out of walnuts but had plenty of almonds. Since it was cold outside and I had everything else, I decided not to run to the grocery store. So I used mostly almonds and a little walnuts for my crust. But that was just the beginning! I used all my dates for the crust so I used raisins for the caramel layer. I had less than 1/3 cup coconut oil needed for the chocolate layer so I added about 2 tablespoons melted butter (I used the wonderfully tasting, grass fed Kerrygold Irish butter) to make up the difference. The Chocolate caramel bars taste great! And I love that I was able to adapt the recipe to what I had in my pantry! I recently made a major lifestyle change in the way I eat due to a cancer diagnoses. While there is lots of natural sugar in the recipe, I can limit myself to a small portion. There are many healthy recipes can taste “not so good”, but this one my family even enjoyed. Thanks for a great recipe!

    • HOORAY!!!! I LOVE that you still went ahead and made the recipe and adapted when you didn’t have the exact ingredients. I’m so glad that they turned out. As you know, my cancer diagnosis also led me to change my diet and lifestyle. I try to eliminate as much sugar as I can (even natural) but you just need to be able to eat some desserts and sweets occasionally. ENJOY! And good luck with the health issues…..make sure you read my posts about essiac tea and IP-6….and take your Vit D 🙂

  3. I am going to make my first batch of essiac tea today! I started IP6 2 weeks a ago. Was on transfer point’s beta glucan but wanted to switch it up. I have been taking Vit D for a couple years so my level is steady at 75. I got a Dr prescription for 50,000 that I take once a week. My husband takes it now too. I am going to do a blood test to see what supplements will work and what are being absorbed in my body. I take so many things now! My cancer Multiple Myeloma will always try to come back. So I feel that I am fighting it everyday with every bite I take of food and every supplement, juice from juicing and everything else that I do know! I will have to go back and read your blog. I am very interested in your story and how you are overcoming your disease. I somehow found your recipe in my search for something sweet to eat! So glad I did. 😉

Leave a Reply

