Spaghetti Squash with Homemade Sauce

DSCN2096

Funny story…

I have a compost bin in my yard and throw in all my food scraps, pulp from my juicing, some yard waste, and peat moss.  I give it a stir every now and then and lo and behold, awesome garden soil humus for my garden.  So, not to long ago, I pulled out the remnants of my green leafy veggies that were growing over the winter and planted some new veggies.  Well, I get the largest tomato and squash plants I have ever seen, but the funny thing is that I never planted any tomatoes or squash!  I have picked almost 100 beautifully perfect Roma tomatoes from this one plant and they are still growing.

Thus, my tomato sauce recipe.  After making spicy jalapeno salsa, mango salsa, roasted corn salsa, peach salsa, and black bean salsa, I decided I needed to do something else with all these tomatoes.

Now, I’m not of Italian heritage and have never made homemade sauce before, but I must say that it isn’t very difficult and didn’t take as long as I thought it would.  My only regret was that I didn’t make more.  I actually didn’t know how it would turn out so I was being conservative, but now that my large bowl is full of tomatoes again I guess I better make some more.

I made my sauce a rather thick and chunky sauce with red pepper, celery, garlic, fresh basil, and onion.  The entire jar didn’t last more than two days!  This recipe makes about one 24oz jar of sauce.

Ingredients

20 medium tomatoes
3-4 cloves of garlic
1 1/2 cups diced onion
1/4 cup diced celery
1/4 cup diced red pepper
8-10 large basil leaves, chopped
2 bay leaves
1 1/2 teaspoons black pepper
2 teaspoons sea salt (omit or use less if you like)
juice of 1 lemon
1 6oz can of tomato paste

*Notice…no sugar like all the jarred sauces you get in the grocery store

Directions

Bring water to boil in a medium-sized sauce pan.  Add about 4-5 tomatoes at a time for 30-45 seconds and then remove them and place them in an ice bath (large bowl with ice and cold water).  This will make the skins peel right off.

Cut the tomatoes in half and remove the seeds and water.  Place them in a large pot with the onions, garlic, celery, and red peppers.  Cook for about 10-15 minutes over medium-low heat.  The tomatoes will begin to fall apart.

Add the remaining ingredients and simmer for about 30 minutes.

Remove the bay leaves and serve.  You will want to double (or triple) this recipe and jar some for later….it’s that good!

Enjoy!

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying 🙂

Leave a Reply

