How To Naturally Boost Your Immunity This Winter

As I was eating breakfast this morning and checking my email, I came across an article about fighting off winter colds.  Since the cooler months are quickly approaching, I thought it was a great time to talk again about ways to boost your immunity naturally and skip the flu shots that are loaded with nasty ingredients we don’t want in our bodies.

Interestingly, as I was eating my morning smoothie made of: kale, spinach, endive, chard, avocado, green apple, lemon, beet, flax oil, and ginger (yum!) and a bowl of cereal made with: hemp seeds, chia seeds, flax seeds, sunflower seeds, cinnamon, blueberries, and almond milk (yum again!), I realized that I was eating six of seven great cold fighting foods 🙂 (Plus a load of other great nutrient dense foods).

Boosting Vitamins A, C, and antioxidants are key to warding off the flu and colds in the winter.

kaleandblueberries Lemon-Ginger beets in baskets cinnamon

Kale and greens are high in both Vitamins A and C
Beets are high in Vitamins A and B as well as being full of antioxidants
Lemons of course have high amounts of Vitamin C and antioxidants
Ginger also has antioxidants and is a strong antimicrobial and antibiotic
Cinnamon is an antimicrobial
Blueberries are great immune boosters as they are high in pterostibene
Red Grapes are also immune boosters and are high in resveratrol

So, as I was eating the first six items I thought that maybe I would need to have a glass of red wine with dinner tonight to get the seventh item on the list.  After all, I do want to be healthy this winter.

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying 🙂

p.s. Try adding some of these other cold fighters to your diet this winter; turmeric, garlic, coconut oil, parsley, apple cider vinegar, and curry.  And don’t forget to get some sunlight or take a Vitamin D supplement.

4 thoughts on “How To Naturally Boost Your Immunity This Winter

  1. Great list! I also think it’s important to list things to remove from diet to improve immunity like white sugar, white flour, soda pops, etc. Thank you for your informational posts.

  2. You’re truly an inspiration! Thanks for the great cold fighting tips, I’ll be sure to include those things in my diet as it continues to get chilly outside! (yes I’m in California and 60 is chilly to me!)

Leave a Reply

