Home Grown Greens – Smoothie

DSCN1472

Well, it may be Fall up North and they even have snow in Colorado out West but here in the South it is still pretty hot (88 today).  That’s okay with me because I’m super excited that at night it gets down into the upper 60’s and low 70’s which is cool enough to grow some greens out in my garden.  Simple pleasures.  Not only does this save me money but I also get to pick just want I want each morning for my smoothie and know that it doesn’t get any fresher.  No pesticides or chemicals sprayed on my garden and I use only organic soil and organic seeds.

Today’s smoothie was kale, swiss chard, and endive from my garden (still too hot for spinach to grow), a Florida local lemon, local alfalfa sprouts, kiwi, avocado, hemp seeds, flax seeds, and a nice big organic golden apple.  I toss it all in the Vitamix with some purified water and yummy…..feel good start to my day!

DSCN1479

I got this great mason jar as a gift from my girlfriend Kelly from a brewery in Upstate New York.  Sorry, no beer in it, I much prefer my drinks green 🙂

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying 🙂

Leave a Reply

