Easy Red Bean and Sun-Dried Tomato Dip

DSCN1215

I eat a lot of hummus! I usually make a bowl of hummus on the weekend and munch on it with fresh veggies throughout the week (so I won’t grab chips or other unhealthy snacks).  Today I was feeling like I needed some fresh raw veggies and there was no hummus in the refrigerator 😦  So, I started poking around and decided to make a new dip with what I had on hand.  Here is what I ended up with, a red bean, sun-dried tomato dip that is super yummy and healthy.

Ingredients

10 sun-dried tomatoes (soak them in boiling water for about 10 minutes)
2 cups of red beans (I had soaked and cooked a big batch of dried beans over the weekend and had these ready to go)
1-2 Tbsp minced garlic
Juice of 1 lemon
1/4 of a large red onion
1 Tbsp dried oregano
1 Tbsp dried parsley
1 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
drizzle of olive oil (about 1 Tbsp)

Directions

Put all ingredients into food processor and process 1-2 minutes or until desired consistency.  Serve with fresh veggies or try it as a spread on your favorite veggie sandwich……Yum!

Enjoy!

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying 🙂

3 thoughts on “Easy Red Bean and Sun-Dried Tomato Dip

  1. Hi Kristen – Are you totally opposed to using canned beans? Also, I am not much of a cook so this may be a silly question, are you using the jarred sun dried tomatoes in oil?
    Can’t wait to try it! Sounds yummy!
    Amy

    • Amy, I am not totally opposed to canned beans. The dried beans do take some time, but also have more nutrients and less sodium typically than canned beans. That being said, I do always have some organic canned beans in my pantry also because of the convenience. Be careful with the jarred sun dried tomatoes in oil because they are typically in canola or other unhealthy oils and add a lot of extra calories and fat. You can add your own olive oil or other more healthy oil with the sundried tomatoes that come dried in a bag….good luck

Leave a Reply

