My Ongoing Quest for Healthy, Great-Tasting Pancakes

Vegan Blueberry Walnut Oatmeal Pancakes

Here is the recipe from my latest pancake trial.  It is a vegan oatmeal blueberry walnut pancake.  It was better than some of my previous attempts at a healthy pancake but still tends to be a touch dry so I think next time I would add a little all natural, sugar-free applesauce to the mix and maybe a touch of cinnamon.  If anyone tries it let me know how it turns out.

Ingredients

3/4 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk (try soy milk if you like)
2 tsp. Organic Apple Cider Vinegar
1 Tbs. 100% Pure Maple Syrup (plus more for on top)
2 tsp. Coconut Oil
1/2 cup Steel Cut Oats
1/2 cup Whole-Wheat Flour
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1 tsp. Baking Powder
1/4 tsp. Sea Salt
1/4 cup chopped Raw Walnuts
1/4 cup Fresh Organic Blueberries

Directions

Combine almond milk, vinegar, syrup, and oil in bowl.  Add oats and let soak for 10 minutes.

Stir flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in separate bowl.  Stir oat mixture into flour mixture.

Fold in walnuts and blueberries.

Cook like all pancakes until golden brown and drizzle on more syrup.

You could also blend some fruit (more blueberries or strawberries and raspberries) to pour on top rather than syrup.

Enjoy!

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying 🙂

6 thoughts on “My Ongoing Quest for Healthy, Great-Tasting Pancakes

  1. Looks delicious. I’m going to try the walnuts and oats. I also work at a healthy pancake and I’ve come up with adding wheat germ and canned pumpkin to a basic vegan recipe, or any recipe. They’re wonderful, my kid loves them. Best wishes to you on your journey.

  2. I love the idea of steel cut oats in the pancakes. But is that enough soak time for them? What is the consistency of the steel cut oats in the pancakes? I am assuming that you started out with uncooked steel cut oats… They sound delicious!

  3. I find frozen butternut squash to be a better replacement for oil\eggs than pumpkin in recipes that you don’t want a pumpkin flavor to. I did it in the pancakes, I use it to make brownies as well. Just something to think about:)

Leave a Reply

