Weird Things About Being Vegan

weird

When my older sister came to visit me after I moved to Florida, she said that every time she looked up at the palm trees they reminded her of something out of a Dr. Seuss book.  Dr. Seuss did say that we are all “weird” and I must say that there are many things that I do and say since changing to a vegan lifestyle that do seem a little weird.  Take the following things for example.

-I can’t order a salad at most restaurants without at least four requests or changes: no meat, no dressing, no cheese, no bread or croutons.

-I cook with items most people haven’t heard of: nutritional yeast, liquid aminos, tamari, tahini, chia seeds, miso, flax seeds, quinoa, tempeh…etc.

-I add things to a smoothie that most people would throw away or not think about putting in a drink: celery greens, broccoli stalks, beet greens, strawberry tops, lemon peel, apple core, avocado, every kind of leafy green, herbs, sprouts, sunflower and pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, almond butter, choffy, cacao…or anything healthy.

-I use my Vitamix blender and food processor several times a day and rarely use a microwave or oven.

-I would rather have kitchen gadgets than jewelry for holidays

-The workers at the Produce Place and local health food store know me by my first name.

-I could talk for hours to perfect strangers about the evils of sugar, dairy, and meat.

-I get super excited when people try any of my recipes and actually like them.

-I’m obsessed with researching and reading everything I can find about healthy living, natural ways to heal and cure your body, and would prefer this over reading my old Nora Roberts novels.  (The China Study truly becomes a must read that I encourage everyone to take a look at)

-I can’t buy anything at the store without looking at the label to see the ingredients and make sure there aren’t hidden sugars, artificial anything, or names I can’t pronounce.

-I prefer to eat food raw and in its natural state…it just tastes better!

eatplants

-I rarely eat out and love to spend hours in my kitchen, chopping, grinding, processing, blending, and mixing, making tons of things from scratch.

-I eat desserts that have things like black beans, chia seeds, coconut oil, coconut butter, avocados, dates, and even tofu in them (sorry Ally).

-I eat things made from weird flours like spelt, brown rice, quinoa, and flax meal.

-I like to grow and eat sprouts and eat sprouted foods like Ezekiel bread.

-My condiments no longer consist of ketchup, mayonnaise, ranch dressing, and barbecue sauce but are now hummus, almond butter, vinegar, and guacamole.

-My eyes are honestly turning a greenish color from brown because of all the green vegetables I eat every day.

vegan2

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying 🙂

2 thoughts on “Weird Things About Being Vegan

  1. I’m not vegan, but I have so many food allergies that your list is my list! It’s is so nice to know that other people deal with food the way I need to. In this case, being “weird” is a good thing!!!

Leave a Reply

