Why You Should Never Drink Gatorade (and a variety of other drinks)

gatorade

I don’t drink sports drinks….or soda….or energy drinks.  I never have, and now I’m even more glad that I don’t.  I just read an article done by NaturalNews.com that talks about how Gatorade is going to remove the flame retardant chemical that it puts in its drinks.  That’s right, you have been drinking a chemical that has been patented in Europe as a flame retardant.  The chemical, brominated vegetable oil (BVO), has been around for decades.  It’s also used in beverages such as Mountain Dew, Squirt, Fanta Orange and other soda varieties.

As the name suggests, it contains bromine which is an element found in flame retardants for computers, electronics, and household items to reduce the risk of fire.  As an ingredient in drinks and food, BVO has been banned in Europe, India, and Japan, but not in the United States.  Side effects of BVO can include memory loss, skin lesions, altered thyroid hormones, impaired fertility, and nervous disorders.

2bromine

BVO was actually removed from the GRAS (generally recognized as safe) list from the Food and Drug Administration way back in 1970 when a Canadian study showed that it caused cardiotoxicity.  Why it is still in our drinks is beyond me.

But, you may say, it can’t be that bad because it says vegetable oil.  Wrong!  The vegetables are corn and soy…which if you have been paying attention are the leading GMO (genetically modified) vegetables.

Gatorade’s parent company, PepsiCo says that they will take the BVO out of Gatorade over the next couple of months (they aren’t in a big hurry) but the chemical that they are replacing it with has not had any long-term studies done and who knows yet if it too will be harmful.  Also, Pepsi has not said whether they intend to take the BVO out of Mountain Dew or other drinks as well.

So, I’m sticking to my purified water and organic tea thank you very much.  Bottoms up!

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying 🙂

3 thoughts on “Why You Should Never Drink Gatorade (and a variety of other drinks)

  1. Dear Kristen,
    You’ve done your research, well done. But your sign off seems a bit snarky- you will die too whether you drink organic tea or moose urine. Don’t sound so condescending.

    • Sorry it sounds “snarky” or “condescending” to you. It is meant only for how I feel I chose to live my life, not in any way toward anyone else. Everyone has their own choice to make and I support their own decision. If my best friend told me that they were choosing chemo I would support them as that is their decision. I had a choice to change my lifestyle or die and I chose to live 🙂

Leave a Reply

