Getting Back on Track After Holiday Eating (and a light salad recipe)

It’s okay if you stuffed your face with lots of yummy holiday foods (don’t beat yourself up) but now you have to get back on track with your healthy eating.  So, don’t keep eating the high sugar and high fat foods that you may have been tempted to indulge in over the holiday.  Get up and go for a walk or take an exercise class, and start eating lighter, healthier foods.

I actually celebrated the holiday in the Florida Keys this year and before I went on my little trip I researched all the local organic and vegan restaurants and found local health food stores.  I also brought a huge bag of nuts and some fruits and veggies with me.  One night, when an awesome organic place in Key West was closed (bummer), I went to the local grocery store and bought some raw veggies and hummus.  I found that it really isn’t that hard to eat healthy when you are out-of-town and on vacation.  You just have to do some planning.  Also, most people in restaurants are very accommodating when you make lots of special requests.  For example, I like to order a salad with no cheese, no dressing, and balsamic vinegar on the side with hot water with lemon slices to drink.  Most restaurants have some fresh strawberries, blueberries, or nuts, or avocado that you can have them add to a salad as well.  Don’t be afraid to ask.

But, now that I am back home, I find myself craving my green smoothies and wanting some light salads and LOTS of raw veggies.  Here is a quick but tasty salad I made when there weren’t many groceries in the house.

Recipe

Chop 1 green apple and 2 celery stalks.  Mix in 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, a couple of tablespoons of sesame seeds, and a couple of tablespoons of raisins.  Blend all of the above with some vegenaise (I used about 2 tablespoons).  Put on top a bed of fresh spinach and squeeze some fresh lemon juice on top.

It’s crunchy, fresh, light but also filling and yummy!

Enjoy and remember that the holidays tend to continue through the new year so pump up your will power, come up with lots of fresh salad recipes, make vegan healthy desserts so you are not tempted to eat from the office cookie trays, and remember that eating healthy through the holidays will help you look good  so you don’t have to hide behind the big ugly Christmas sweater you got from your great-aunt.

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying 🙂

Leave a Reply

