Fighting Cancer

Since it is Breast Cancer Awareness Month and well, I have Breast Cancer, I thought that we should discuss some of the best cancer-fighting foods.  Whether you have cancer and want to get rid of it, don’t want to get cancer, or don’t want it to come back (which everyone should be in one of these groups), you can take control of feeding your body the foods that will help attain this goal.

Looking at the chart above you can see that a lot of the foods that I talk about and put in recipes are included.  I encourage all of you to also start eating these foods on a daily basis.  I can honestly say that at this moment I have 18 of the 24 foods in my house and consume many of them each day.

Notice that the fruits listed are berries, lemons and apples.  These are alkalizing fruits.  You want to make sure that you are eating more of these and less of the acidic, high sugar fruits like grapes, mangos, cherries, bananas, plums, pears and pineapple.  Yes, you can eat these fruits and a whole variety of other fruits too, but limit the high sugar ones and eat more of the alkalizing ones in order to help your body heal and fight the big “C”.

Try to add cinnamon, garlic, turmeric, ginger and ginseng to recipes whenever you can.  Any dessert or breakfast food is great with a dash of cinnamon.  Garlic, well, I put that in nearly everything that I cook…soups, stir-frys, on pizza, mixed into burgers and dips.  Turmeric and ginger are also great to add to stir-frys and soups.

Remember to add some olive oil to your salads, drizzle on your hummus, add a drizzle on top of your soup.  I do cook with it occasionally but remember that it does go rancid when cooked at high temperatures and coconut oil is better for that.

Nuts are my staple.  I’m just nuts for nuts and seeds 🙂  I add them to my chia cereal in the morning and eat handfuls of them throughout the day.  I sprinkle them on my salad, in my stir-frys, and make the most amazing dips and sauces out of them.

The veggies…well, they speak for themselves.  Everyone should know by now that the green leafy veggies, kale, broccoli and cauliflower are super healthy.  I throw lots of them in my smoothies.  Avocado makes a smoothie nice and creamy.  I also eat a lot of salads and raw broccoli and cauliflower with my nut dips…double goodness.  Only occasionally eat, the high carb/sugar veggies like potatoes, corn, carrots, peas, and beets.

Lets all try to avoid, beat, and stop cancer from returning naturally.  Eating is something I enjoy doing and if eating certain delicious foods will also help beat cancer then a big shout on the rooftops hooray!  Now go to the grocery store, farmers market, or produce stand and pick up a basket of cancer fighting medicine the way nature intended.

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying 🙂

3 thoughts on “Fighting Cancer

  1. As a visual learner, that is a great chart. I plan to print it for my kids to see it too. I eat these foods but no tumeric (not sure how to eat this?), pomergranates (can you drink it or not healthy that way?) and artichokes (only because they are hard to prepare and pricey), Brussel Sprouts are not that yummy (an advice how to prepare that?).

    • I actually take a turmeric supplement every day but try to add it to soups and stir-frys as well. Be careful with fruit juices they have a lot of sugar. Put the fruit in a smoothie. I know what you mean about artichokes..love ’em but they are pricey…I just steam them when I do cook them. I actually am a fan of brussel sprouts but if you don’t care for them try putting “cheeze” sauce on them 🙂

Leave a Reply

