Chemo-versary

An anniversary is a day that commemorates or celebrates a past event that occurred on the same day of the year as the initial event.  The most common type of anniversary is a birthday, celebrating the date one was born.  Other popular anniversaries including wedding anniversaries and death anniversaries.

Today is my Chemo-versary.  The day, one year ago, that I finished my chemotherapy for my breast cancer.  The last day that I had poison running through my veins.  I still, one year later, continue to experience side effects from the chemo and I hope to NEVER go through anything like it again.

Cancer has given me many new anniversaries.  The date I was first diagnosed.  The date of my bilateral mastectomy.  The end of chemotherapy.  The end of radiation.  The end of Herceptin infusions.  But I try at this time to not put much energy into thinking about the dark days of the past but instead try to celebrate what good has come out of the past 18 months of my cancer journey.

I have learned the depth of love that my husband, family and friends have for me.

I developed a whole new set of friends, “cancer chicks”, that have become my supporters, my confidants, and my heroes.

I have a better understanding of why forgiveness is so important in life.

I have learned that I am more brave and courageous than I ever thought I could be.

I have developed a desire and will to help others and give back.

I know that I have to, and want to, take care of myself so that I will be able to celebrate many more happy anniversaries.

So, on this Chemo-versary, I woke up, took a deep breath, remembered briefly what this day meant and then went out with my kids (and their friends) and enjoyed a beautiful sun-filled day.  I hope everyone else had a spectacular day too.

-Kristen

Choosing healthy living over dying

One thought on “Chemo-versary

  1. Kristin,
    This is a great blog and an avenue for all of us “cancer-chicks”. I agree with you on many points, most important is forgiveness. Once you forgive you get a sense of peace and realize the meaning of wasted energy.
    I am so happy that you are celebrating many important milestones. good luck….i’ll be following
    suzanne

Leave a Reply

