Kris Carr’s Save the Tuna Salad Sandwich

DSCN0968

Wow!  I’ve always been a fan of tuna salad but since going vegan and giving up fish and fattening mayo, I haven’t eaten it in years.  So, I tried Kris Carr’s “Save the Tuna Salad” Sandwich (with some slight additions) and it is really yummy and addicting.  I even had a sandwich for breakfast because I liked it so much the day before when I made it and I couldn’t wait to eat it again for lunch.  My husband even packed it for his lunch two days in a row :)

Ingredients

1 cup raw almonds, soaked a few hours or overnight in water
1 cup raw sunflower seeds, soaked a few hours or overnight in water
1/3 cup minced celery
1/4 cup minced red onion
1/3 cup diced fine pickles
2 Tablespoons minced dill
1 Tablespoon minced oregano (I used dried and it was still yummy)
3 Tablespoons lemon juice (fresh squeezed is best)
1 Tablespoon agave
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
fresh ground black pepper to taste
Dijon mustard
Spinach or lettuce leaves
Tomato slices
Sauerkraut
Bread (I use Ezekiel but Kris uses whole-grain rye)
Kris also adds 2 Tablespoons kelp granules, but this is optional and I didn’t have any….oh well!

Directions

Blend the soaked nuts in a food processor until finely minced and then transfer into a bowl.

Add the celery, onion, pickles, herbs, lemon juice, agave, salt and pepper.  Stir thoroughly.

Toast the bread if you like and then spread some Dijon mustard on and add lettuce and tomato.  I also added sauerkraut to mine :)  My husband is not a fan of mustard so he mixed a little balsamic vinegar into his “Tuna” mixture.

Scoop the “Tuna” onto the sandwich and presto, a delicious lunch (or dinner or even breakfast).

DSCN0973

Enjoy!

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying :)

One thought on “Kris Carr’s Save the Tuna Salad Sandwich

Leave a Reply

