The Power of Natural Medicine

If any (both….hahaha) of my followers have been wondering where I have been since my last post May 15th, I’ve been on an emotional rollercoaster.  I received some bad news from my routine blood work in April which suggested that I possibly had MDS (Myelodysplastic Syndrome…what Robin Roberts from Good Morning America has).

My white and red blood counts had been dropping over several months and for the past two years since chemo were not good to begin with.  So, I did some more blood work which showed that I now have a mutated ASXL1 gene….thanks chemo for one more wonderful side effect!

What does it mean?  Well, MDS use to be called pre leukemia.  It is a disorder in which the bone marrow is unable to make enough normal blood cells for the body.  All three of my cells (red, white, and platelets) are not functioning normal.

This disorder usually happens in elderly individuals but can also be secondary due to exposure to toxins like chemo and radiation.  Secondary MDS is more difficult to treat and MDS can grow more severe over time and become acute myelogenous leukemia (AML).  Treatment may depend on the severity and several other factors but typically is intense chemo and stem cell transplant with a typical poor prognosis.

Well, you can imagine what I was going through this past month…..head spinning with all sorts of information and fears.  I never wanted to even entertain the idea of more chemo after all it did to me and how much I have been using natural medicine, diet, exercise, and healthy living to reverse the chemo effects and get me healthy again.

So, I had my pity party for a while.  I did extensive research.  I sought out a Naturopathic doctor, a herbalist, the owner of a health food store, many fellow bloggers and doctor’s from different parts of the world to help give me insight into what I should do.

I started making and drinking essiac tea, another blend of purification teas, added some new supplements and increased the dosages of other supplements.  I also ate a special ($85 for 4 oz) honey which I read had wonderful results in raising white blood cell counts.  I was told by traditional doctors that there was nothing I could eat or do to make my blood counts increase….but I had heard similar things from doctors in the past telling me I would be deaf from the sudden sensorineural hearing loss that chemo caused.

I was not feeling like a “healthy cancer chick”, and was under a lot of stress, which is why I stopped blogging for a while.  I did my best to put on a happy face for my children, friends, and family but I was angry, scared, sad, exhausted, frightened, and many other things all at once.

My husband, once again, proved to be my rock and helped me stay sane so I did not give up.

With my falling blood counts, and mutated gene, I had to have a bone biopsy which we were hoping wouldn’t be horrible news, but really weren’t expecting the best news.  I just kept eating healthy, walking, taking all my supplements, and trying the new teas and “potions” hoping for a miracle.  Meanwhile I was researching where in the country to get the best treatment…just in case.

Well, I received my biopsy and blood results today and :) good news!  My white blood cell count and absolute neut DOUBLED!  In only several weeks, with nothing but natural medicine, when I was told there was nothing I could do.  Even better, my bone marrow showed no signs of lymphoma or leukemia!

I’m not completely out of the the woods, but this news is wonderful.  I will have to have blood work every three months and if the counts drop too low again will have to repeat the bone biopsy.  Now with a mutated gene I am at high risk of developing MDS/AML but my goal is to continue eating and living healthy so hopefully this never happens.  Repairing my body from not only the ravages of cancer but from the chemo and radiation will be a lifelong task but I will do whatever it takes to live a long life and wake each day feeling blessed to be breathing and have more memories with my husband and children.

I hope to start cooking and blogging more again, but also want to spend some quality time with my kids while they are on summer vacation, so it may not be daily like in the past.  I’m happy to say that I am feeling, once again, like a healthy cancer chick!

-Kristen

Choosing healthy living over dying :)

17 thoughts on “The Power of Natural Medicine

  1. Kristen,
    You have been missed. I thank God that you were able to turn things around with His help! Praying for only good news from now on!
    Frances

  2. You are such an inspiration. You have no idea. I have never known a tougher person. Your blog has helped change the course me and my family plot and what goes on in our four walls has the influence of a TOUGH, healthy cancer chick. Thank you Kristen. And please high five your husband from us… what an outstanding example of a MAN devoted to his wife. I hope one day we can reciprocate what it is that you give us… and yes, you have been missed… Praise God.

  3. I just informed my dr that I will not be having chemo or radiation . I am choosing a healthy diet…herbs…a detox…and a positive state of mind…my choice….my way…to deal with cancer. Tomorrow will be 1 month I burried my mother. She had ovarian cancer. I was tested, and they found cancer..stage 1…. Small tumor…..had a radical hysterectomy….and was told as a precausion…my doctor would like to do 25 radiations, and 5 chemo’s…..not on this girl…..the 2 doctors that i went to, told me I have an 80% chance of having all the cancer gone..not needing the treatment and being in the clear. For the 20% chance, they want to give me all that treatment. If you told me I had an 80% chance of winning the lottery…I would buy the ticket !!! I just can’t subject my body to all of those toxins for a 20% chance…..we don’t castrate our husbands on the 20% chance that they could cheat…..so I am not doing that to my body ….it is very hard to make our own decisions and to step p and take responsibility for our own health care….I am so happy to hear you are on your way to good health….your blog has been inspiring to me…..thank you

    • Rose…..you go girl!!!! I’m so happy to hear your inspiring story. You will feel great and live long based on your healthy lifestyle and will not have to worry or deal with all of the terrible side effects that those “traditional” treatments cause. You know your body best and your right….it’s your decision to make :)

  4. You continue to amaze me. I am so happy GOD has blessed you with Chris to carry this cross of unending journey for your health. I love the fact you are relying on the power of Nature’s Medicine. I hope too you never forget the power of Prayer, especially to our Holy Mother…I pray to her for you all the time. Your blog is phenomenal and even if it touches all two of your readers, those are two people who have you making a difference in their lives. Love you!

    • I love you too Tine :) I keep St. Agatha with me every day and pray the Hail Mary so many times (she brings down my blood pressure when I get stressed). Thanks for all your support. Hope to see you soon.

  5. Kristin,
    Thank you for sharing. It was good to hear from you again, but the update was the news was unexpected. It has to be overwhelming and I commend your tenacity and perseverance with the holistic options. As I was reading your blog, I was so hoping that there was some good news at the end. I’m so very glad to hear these things are working, and moving in a positive direction. I understand having the good days and bad days. You’re truly amazing and living a full life despite the obstacles. You have a lot of people pulling for you and sending prayers.
    Love and Hugs,
    Robin

  6. Kristin,
    Thank you Kristin!!!! You are an amazing inspiration and an amazing woman!! You have changed so many things in my kitchen and more importantly my mind set. Your attitude is something to be admired. Thank you for your sharing your journey with all of us. I will keep you in my prayers.
    Blessings,
    Amy White

  7. Kristin,
    I was wondering this week why you hadn’t posted on your blog and was hoping it wasn’t because of bad news. It seems that you have “taken the bull by the horns”! Bravo! I admire your courage and willingness to not settle for what the docs say. We all have to be proactive in our journeys. I am hoping that over the next few weeks you will share more specifically what you did to bring your counts up. My white cell count is still low but not dangerously low. I was informed last month that “it may never be normal….most chemo patients’ counts are permanently damaged.” Just another gift from the poisonous drugs.
    All the best,
    Susan

  8. So glad you received some good news and that we will start hearing from you again. Continue what you are doing – you are an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

