Protecting The Whole You

When it comes to information on healthy living and ways to help my cancer not return, I’m like a sponge.  I spend a lot of time doing research, shopping for the best products, learning about the healthiest foods I can eat, and making sure that I know the latest and greatest things that I can do to protect myself.

Yes, this is time-consuming.  I do spend a lot of time on the computer, at grocery stores and health stores, and reading books and magazines.  But I also enjoy it.  I feel good about not only what I put in my body but on my body as well.  I think that many people forget that healthy living is not just about eating healthy and exercising but also about the toxic chemicals to avoid.  Those found in beauty products, sun screens and lotions, cleaning products, water, and all throughout the environment are harming us on a cellular level every day.  These toxins are leading to health issues just as much as the food that we eat.

environmental-working-group-logo

The Environmental Working Group (EWG.org), is a website that is so full of information that you should book mark it and utilize the information on a regular basis.  If you don’t have the time to do all the research yourself, that’s alright, the EWG has done it for you.  They provide straight facts about all types of environmental health issues so that you can make healthier choices for yourself and your family.

The EWG provides guides including those on; healthy cleaning, cosmetics, pesticides in produce, sunscreen, BPA, safe cell phone use, fluorescent light bulbs, GMO food, good food on a tight budget, healthy childcare, reducing exposure to PBDES in your home, preventing cancer, and more!

EWG-sunscreen

They address key issues such as farming, energy, water, food, consumer products and toxics.  They help you attain the knowledge to make the best choices and select the best products that will enhance rather than harm your health.

organicnatural

I could go on and on about all the different information that is available through the EWG website but why don’t you check it out for yourself.  The web site is easy to navigate and can guide you through anything from what topics are hot in the media, what legislation is being passed, how to choose the best shampoo, to how to eat healthy on a budget.

www.EWG.org

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying :)

One thought on “Protecting The Whole You

Leave a Reply

