Busy Weekend, Chemo Brain, and Sweet Potatoes

My musically talented teenager made me very proud and kept me very busy this weekend.  Friday night and most of Saturday were spent listening to high school solos and ensembles being judged at a neighboring high school.  My daughter received all five superiors (the highest grade you can get) and will now be going to perform at the state level in April.  Our county in Florida produces many amazing and talented teens.  Congratulations to all of them.  They work very hard all year-long.

Sunday, my daughter performed with the Brevard County Youth Orchestra.  Another spectacular performance by all the kids.

We also had some family in town from New York for a brief visit before they sailed off on a cruise.  It was a short visit but was wonderful to see them all.  I made several of my yummy, healthy favorites to feed the masses (or new guinea pigs) like almond butter, homemade granola, dehydrated apple rings, carrot salad, quinoa apple salad, three bean salad, sun-dried tomato hummus, chocolate frosted brownies, chocolate nut bars, and of course green smoothies.  I love to feed my healthy cooking to anyone that will eat it and I think they all, or almost all, enjoyed it.

So, this brings me to my chemo brain moment and sweet potatoes.  Being tired from a busy weekend, I decided to make something simple for dinner.  I had some sweet potatoes in the house and started going through the refrigerator to see what I could do with them that wouldn’t take a lot of effort.  I was tired!  I pulled out an avocado, some fresh cilantro, a red onion and some tomatoes.  Grabbed a lime and some cumin and thought, voila, there’s dinner.

DSCN0281

I took some pictures of my colorful and yummy creation, thinking I would share it with all of you and that’s when I had a deja vu feeling.  Sure enough, I’ve blogged a similar recipe for stuffed sweet potatoes (but also with black beans in the salsa mixture) in the past.  Good old chemo brain…I didn’t even remember it.

So, like the old advertisement for Kellogg’s Corn Flakes says, “taste them again for the first time.”  If you didn’t try it in the past, spice up your plain potato tonight with this great recipe.  It’s packed with healthy, nutritious, vitamins and minerals, phytonutrients, antioxidants, omega 3, and lots of other “good for the body” ingredients.

Directions

Bake a couple of sweet potatoes until tender.  Split them in half and loosen the flesh (mash it a little).  In a bowl mix together diced tomatoes (I used cherry tomatoes), an avocado, a quarter of a red onion, and a handful of fresh cilantro.  Squeeze the juice of 1 lime (or a lemon will work) on top and sprinkle on some cumin.  Mix together and pile high on the potato.  Quick, easy, and deliciously satisfying.

DSCN0277

Enjoy!

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying :)

p.s. Don’t forget to sign up for the free Bob’s Red Mill Quinoa give away under the contest page!

One thought on “Busy Weekend, Chemo Brain, and Sweet Potatoes

Leave a Reply

