The Budwig Diet

Back in November I went to New Orleans to have some reconstructive surgery.  Prior to the surgery they had to run some tests and scans.  My CT scan of the chest ended up showing 4 spots on my lungs (2 on each lung).  I still don’t know what the spots are.  They could be anything from nodes developed from a cold, spots due to scar tissue from my multiple surgeries, or worst case scenario, metastases of cancer.  They are small and there is really nothing that the Dr’s can do at this point.  When I go back to New Orleans in March for my next (and hopefully last) surgery they will redo a CT scan and compare what they see to the old scan.  Best case scenario nothing is there, ok case scenario the spots are still there but are not growing and there are no more, worst case scenario there are more or the 4 are getting bigger.

Meanwhile, I’m taking some more precautionary steps to help ensure me that it’s good news I will be hearing in March.  I already take a handful of supplements to boost my immunity and fight cancer and other ailments, I religiously drink my green smoothies twice a day, I exercise regularly, I do deep breathing and try to keep the stress down (not always easy with a teenager and a preteen in the house), I eat raw vegetables and salads every day and eat a variety of other healthy foods and drinks.  What more could I do you ask?  Well, I’ve read a lot about the Budwig diet and decided “what the heck” just a little more “insurance” that this nasty cancer is not going to come back.

Dr Johanna Budwig was a German biochemist and physicist who held a Ph.D. in Natural Science, had undergone medical training, and was schooled in pharmaceutical science, physics, botany, and biology and had done extensive research on the properties and benefits of flaxseed oil combined with sulphurated proteins.   She developed, in 1951,  an anti cancer diet, which has also been successful in helping people with Diabetes, Arthritis, Asthma, Heart Disease, Fibromyalgia, Blood Pressure, Multiple Sclerosis, Eczema, Psoriasis, and a host of other illnesses.  I hate the word diet because it always seems to scream….you can’t have this or that, it tastes horrible, or it’s just a fad, so I refer to it as the Budwig protocol.

It’s very simple to add this to your morning routine.  You simply take low-fat, organic, cottage cheese and blend it with organic flaxseed oil (CCFO).  Now some of you are already saying…wait a minute, cottage cheese is dairy.  You are correct, it is dairy and I eat a vegan diet which means no dairy.  However, I have read the amazing stories of success people have had on this protocol and I figure what the heck, it’s only 2/3 cup organic cottage cheese once a day for a few months to see what happens.

The premise behind this protocol is that it doesn’t matter what type of cancer cells you have or where they are located in the body, the CCFO mixture gives cells what is needed in order for them to normalize in their functioning process.  Ironically, in 2001 Duke University announced a pilot study they were conducting that suggested that flaxseed oil and a low-fat diet can help those with cancer.

DSCN0125

Here’s what you do

Take 2/3 cup low-fat, organic cottage cheese and 6 Tablespoons organic high quality flaxseed oil (which needs to be kept refrigerated) and mix it together with a hand-held mixer.  You can cut the amounts in half and do it twice a day as well.

I use a large canning jar so that it doesn’t splatter all over me and the kitchen.  Yes, that is experience talking from when I first tried it in a regular cereal bowl.

You need to blend it for a full 1 to 2 minutes or until all the oil is incorporated and the mixture starts looking like a thick cream.

DSCN0127

DSCN0130

You can eat this just as is…which is typically how I eat it now…or you can add some fresh fruit or seeds or nuts.  Some people even add cayenne pepper or herbs to make it more palatable.  I have to admit that the first several times I ate it I did have to add some flax seeds, sesame seeds, and organic blueberries to make it have some fruity and crunchy flavor, but now I actually like the taste.

DSCN0133

As always, do the research, look into whether this protocol may help you or your loved ones and then if so, give it a try.  Eating a little CCFO each morning sure beats pumping your veins full of poison or frying your body with chemotherapy and radiation.

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying :)

9 thoughts on “The Budwig Diet

  1. Kristen,
    I follow Budwig and am still healthy 3 years after having my brain tumor removed. I am guessing that you have already found the Flaxoil2 yahoo group? There is lots of good info and support there.

  2. I just read up on the Budwig diet and think it is great. I also had some information handed to me by someone about the soursop fruit, aka Guanabana. A Purdue study showed that it killed cancer cells and left healthy ones intact. All cancer cells. Have you tried it before or looked into it? I wish I wasn’t the only one trying to spread the info about natural remedies in our church. Seems most people are content to let conventional treatments run their course. It’s heartbreaking and frustrating! I will be praying that this treatment works for you!

    • I have not yet heard about this fruit but will look into it..thanks. I know all about the frustration with the majority holding out on conventional treatments rather than giving natural remedies a try. Keep trying to spread the word…someone will eventually listen.

  3. I did the Budwig regimen when I was first diagnosed. One thing I did was bought the regular (non high lignan) flax oil. I then ground up flax seeds and spooned on top of the FO/CC mixture. I read that this was the best way. I ate it plain. I don’t recall but do you do enemas. I did coffee enemas every day for about a month. I may start those up again.

    • Yes, I heard that grinding the flax seeds and adding them is best but you must eat them within 20 minutes of grinding them up or they go rancid. I have not ventured into the coffee enemas but no many people who swear by them. One day I will do it :)

  4. It’s almost a year later and I’m curious what your results have been using this diet. Could you please update us with your experience following the Budwig protocol? Thanks.

    • I no longer follow this (exact) diet but do incorporate some of it on a regular basis. I am happy to say that as of today I am NED (no evidence of disease) and feel fabulous. I juice, drink green smoothies, eat a WFPB diet (avoiding all meat, dairy, processed foods, and sugar) and exercise regularly. I also take a few supplements and continue to drink essiac tea. I do feel the Budwig protocol had positive benefits!

Leave a Reply

