Today’s Lunch…….Mmmmm it’s sooo good!

After walking with my neighbor, doing the dishes, making treats for my daughter and her friends, driving my kids around and going to get my hair done, I was starving.  I walked into the kitchen and saw the Christmas cookies and fudge that people have been bringing over, opened the pantry and saw the chips and crackers that family loves and then opened up the refrigerator and made the right choice.

I made a delicious raw burrito and green smoothie and I feel so much better knowing that I stayed away from all the evil foods lurking in my kitchen.  I must say, they were not only healthy but really satisfying and delicious.  No, they were REALLY delicious.  So I thought I would go right to the computer and give you the simple recipes.

green smoothie

1 green granny smith apple
1 pear
1/2 cucumber
1 handful of baby carrots (about 1/2 cup)
1 large handful of spinach (about 1 cup)
2 large leaves of romaine lettuce
2 large leaves of rainbow swiss chard
purified water (about 10-16 oz)

Blend all together in Vitamix and enjoy!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

raw burrito

about 1 cup walnuts
about 8-10 sun-dried tomatoes
(blend the walnuts and tomatoes together in food processor)

1 large tomato, cut in long slices
1/2 cucumber, cut in long slices
1 avocado, cut in slices
1 large carrot, cut in long slices

several large romaine lettuce leaves

Wash the lettuce leaves and trim the center stalk half way up.  Spread some walnut “meat” mixture on the leaf.  Layer with tomato, cucumber, carrot and avocado slices.  Fold up the lettuce leaf and dig in to your raw burrito.  It’s so yummy and crunchy and flavorful.  You could also add sprouts, cabbage, or some microgreens.  Play around with what is in your kitchen and eat a healthy raw lunch.

Enjoy!

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying :)

2 thoughts on “Today’s Lunch…….Mmmmm it’s sooo good!

Leave a Reply

