Vegetable Black Bean Stir Fry With Peanut Sauce

Yum….I love Thai food with spicy peanut sauces.  I also love a vegetable stir fry with brown rice when I want a nice hearty meal.  Well, I made this vegetable black bean (why not add some more fiber, protein, folate, magnesium, B1, phosphorus and iron) stir fry with a peanut sauce and put it over rice.  Unfortunately my camera broke (and I was hungry so I ate it before realizing that I could have used the iPad to take a picture) so you are just going to have to trust me that this one looks and tastes delicious.  Instead you get a random picture of me and my daughters waiting for lunch in Venice, Italy this summer along the canal :)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ingredients

2 cups brown rice, cooked
1 cup black beans, (rinsed if using canned, soaked and cooked if using dry)
1 large carrot, shredded
1 cup snap peas
1 cup broccoli florets
1 red pepper, sliced
1 cup shredded red cabbage
1 cup chopped walnuts
2 Tablespoons olive oil

Sauce

1/4 cup natural peanut butter (next time I’m going to try my homemade raw almond butter and see how it turns out)
1/4 cup tahini
1 1/2 Tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup water
1 Tablespoon minced garlic
2 teaspoons chopped ginger
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper (optional, if you like it spicy)
1 teaspoon agave
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil (optional if you want it oil free)

Directions

Cook rice and set aside.  Mix all sauce ingredients in Vitamix or high-speed blender and set aside.  Heat olive oil in large saute pan and saute carrots, snap peas, broccoli, red pepper, and cabbage for 2 to 3 minutes.  Add black beans, walnuts, and sauce and cook until heated through.  Serve atop brown rice.

Enjoy!

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying :)

3 thoughts on “Vegetable Black Bean Stir Fry With Peanut Sauce

  1. Love the recipe and the motto. I’m choosing healthy living over dying too. No particular reason. Just hit me one day. Thanks for being out here.

Leave a Reply

