Raw “Cheeze Cake”

Hooray!!!  It’s my 100th post and I’m celebrating with cake :)

I finally broke down and decided to make a raw “cheeze” cake.  You gotta understand, I LOVE cheesecake!  At my wedding I told my husband that he could have the traditional tiered wedding cake and that I wanted the grooms cake because I had to have my cheesecake.  I always prefered a cheesecake to birthday cake and given a choice for dessert at a restaurant, cheesecake would always win.  So, I was sad to no longer eat my favorite dessert when I decided to give up sugar and dairy along with all other evil foods, but I have found some good alternatives.  I tried this easy to make one to start and I must say, it’s pretty satisfying and to know how much healthier it is than traditional cheesecake is priceless.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups nuts (I used a combination of walnuts and almonds…macadamia nuts would be good too)
1/2 cup dates
dash of salt

1/4 to 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

3 cups raw cashews
3/4 cup lemon juice
3/4 cup agave
3/4 cup coconut oil
1 Tablespoon vanilla

fresh berries

Directions

I spread the coconut in a pie pan.  This helps the crust to not stick and it just adds more yummy flavor.

Blend the nuts (walnuts and almonds), dates and salt together and spread in the pan on top of the coconut.

Blend the cashews, lemon juice, agave, oil, and vanilla together until a creamy mixture.  Add either more nuts or a little water to reach desired consistency.  Spread onto the crust and put in freezer for several hours.

Before serving I blend some frozen strawberries and a few dates to make a sauce and then put fresh fruit on top.

Enjoy!

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying :)

2 thoughts on “Raw “Cheeze Cake”

  1. This looks good! I miss cheesecake too. Going to have to try this. Do you think it would work with maple syrup? Btw, I bought all the ingredients for your toasted pine nut quinoa today. Going to make it tomorrow. :)

Leave a Reply

