Pumpkin Chickpea Fritters

I tried a variation of a recipe that I bookmarked a while ago and I think it needs some more tweaking.  It was, as my husband says, edible but needed some more flavor.  So, I challenge you to help me find ways to make it tastier so I don’t have to put this one in the “don’t make again” pile.

Ingredients

1 can chick peas, drained and rinsed
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 cup sesame seeds (original recipe called for hemp seeds but I didn’t have any)
1 Tablespoon garlic
2 tsp apple cider vinegar
sea salt, pepper, cayenne to taste
about 1 Tablespoon cinnamon
bread crumbs
olive oil

Directions

Put chickpeas and pumpkin into bowl and mash with a potato masher.  Add sesame seeds, garlic, vinegar, and spices.  Mix well.

Form into patties and then coat with bread crumbs.  Cook in oil until brown and crispy on both sides.

I paired it with a simple arugula, strawberry, walnut salad with balsamic vinegar…yum!

Now, here is what I discovered.  They were a little too soft and tended to fall apart easily.  I probably would not cook them in olive oil again.  The oil was too hot and had a burnt taste to it.  I may try coconut oil which doesn’t go rancid at high temperatures.  They also did not have as much of a pumpkin flavor as I expected.  Actually they had very little flavor at all.  I was rather disappointed because I like the idea of the chickpeas, seeds, pumpkin and all the spices.  So, if anyone tries to take this recipe and build upon I would love to hear from you.

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying :)

8 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chickpea Fritters

  1. I started using spike’s veggie salt in many of my savory recipes, it adds additional flavor without too much additional sodium. I use ground flax or vital wheat gluten as binders to help hold things like this together. A tablespoon or two does wonders. Chopped cilantro might also be a nice addition…You could try it all! :)

Leave a Reply

