Supplement Saturday — Vitamin D

The very first time I stepped foot into my Oncologist’s office after being diagnosed with Breast Cancer I was asked if I had my Vitamin D level checked.  I replied no and was immediately sticking out my arm to have blood drawn (yuck…I’m needle phobic).  I did not know about the connection between Vitamin D levels and different diseases and illnesses including cancer.  Growing up and living in Upstate New York, there was not a lot of opportunity to get natural Vitamin D from the sun.  My test results showed that my levels were “in the toilet” according to my Doctor and I was immediately started on 50,000 IU a week.  After 16 months on this dosage, I just recently dropped down to 35,000 IU a week.

What you may not know about Vitamin D is that it is actually not a Vitamin at all.  It is a steroid hormone that influences virtually every cell in your body, and is easily one of nature’s most potent cancer fighters.  I wish I had known that years ago and started getting my levels checked then….ahhh hindsight.

Vitamin D influences nearly 3,000 of your genes, and it plays a major role in your immune response, including helping your body produce over 200 antimicrobial pepcides that help fight all sorts of infections.

Your best defense against any disease is a good immune system, which vaccines can actually compromise.  Supporting your immune system should be at the top of your list and optimizing your Vitamin D levels is one of the crucial components of this.

Eating healthy and including lots of fruits and vegetables will help with your Vitamin D levels along with getting sunshine every day.  German researchers have found that Vitamin D increases your immune system by a factor of 3 to 5 and is more powerful than any vaccine you could get.

Vitamin D deficiencies can cause or make worse numerous conditions including:

Acute lower respiratory infection Anaphylaxis Anemia Anxiety Arthritis
Asthma Atherosclerosis Autism Autoimmune diseases Bipolar disorder
Brain damage Breast-tissue density Chronic fatigue Chronic pain Cognitive ability
Colds Craniotabes C-reactive protein levels Crohn’s disease Cystic fibrosis
Dental caries (cavities) and periodontal disease Depression Diabetes Dyslexia Eczema
Epilepsy Falls Fibromyalgia Flu Fractures
Headache Hearing loss Heart disease and heart failure High cholesterol HIV/AIDS
Hypertension Immune system dysfunction Infertility Inflammation Inflammatory bowel disease
Insomnia Intermittent claudication Kidney disease Leprosy Leukemia
Low back pain Low birth weight Lupus Macular degeneration Melanoma
Meningitis (bacterial) Metabolic syndrome Migraines Multiple sclerosis Muscle strength (low)
Myeloma Myopathy Myopia Necrotizing fasciitis Neuroblastoma
Neuropathy Nonspecific muscle pain Nursing home risk Obesity Osteomalacia
Osteoporosis Parasites Parkinson’s disease Peripheral artery disease Pneumonia
Polycystic ovary disease Pre-eclampsia Psoriasis Retinoblastoma Rickets
Schizophrenia Seasonal affective disorder (SAD) Sepsis and septicemia Stroke Tuberculosis

Here are the Top 5 Health Benefits associated with Vitamin D

1.  It helps the intestine absorb nutrients, including calcium and phosphorus.  This ensures strong bones and a strong immune system.

2.  It prevents osteomalacia and rickets.  These cause weakness of the muscular system, brittle bones, and skeletal deformity.

3.  It provides calcium balance in the body that prevents osteoporosis and arthritis.

4.  It regulates blood pressure, reduces stress and tension, relieves body aches and pains by reducing muscle spasms, reduces respiratory infections, aids in insulin secretion, helps fight depression, improves overall skin health and reduces wrinkles, and improves cardiovascular strength by providing a protective lining for blood vessels.

5.  It is recommended for the treatment of several diseases.

So go outside and spend 15 to 20 minutes in the sun each day without sunscreen and soak in all the wonderful Vitamin D that you can.  If you do not see the sun for days at a time (or longer to all my CNY friends) you should consider getting your levels checked and adding a supplement as well as increasing foods that contain Vitamin D.

Ahhh…..I think I will go out to the pool now….I have to get my Vitamin D after all :)

-Kristen
Choosing healthy living over dying

5 thoughts on “Supplement Saturday — Vitamin D

  1. Wow Kristen, this is very enlightening. I was also told by my doctor about a year ago my vitamin D levels were low and told me to take a dosage 2x a week. I don’t think my levels were in the toilet as your’s were, but nonetheless, I need to get back on it as I kinda stopped taking them and have not had my levels checked in over a year. I also didn’t realize how Vitamin D affects so many illnesses and conditions. Guess I gotta pull out that Vitamin D bottle, hoping it has not expired.

    thanks
    Kristin Hoctor

  2. Hi,
    I wanted to say I’m really enjoying your blog and I’m learning a lot along the way by the information you share, as well as I’m being reminded of things I often forget. I pin your post onto my pinterest boards, Fit.Healthy.Lifestyle, in hopes for all thpse following my board to click over to your blog and spread the message. I’m not sure if you are familiar with Pinterest and how it works, I hope that’s okay. Thank you for all your wonderful posts and for sharing your delicious recipes and knowledge with all of us. Looking forward to more post from you.

  3. Note that there is a difference between Vitamin D2 (which is most often prescribed by Drs.) and D3 (which you can buy at store). Vitamin D3 is more readily absorbed. I currently take 4000-8000iu of Vitamin D3 every day as part of my recovery plan from BC. I plan to take this for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

